Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inexpensive Soldering Station. Any experience with the $15 PE one?

Inexpensive Soldering Station. Any experience with the $15 PE one?

I have two butane powered soldering irons, one from Snap-On and one from MAC. I use them for anything small, and I use a Mapp Gas torch for my big (1/0 and 2/0) connectors.

I dislike having to refill my butane ones, and I dislike the fact that they roll around the workbench and I have to set them somewhere safe while they cool so I don't burn anything.
    I'd like to get an adjustable soldering station and I don't have a lot of requirements other than it needs to have replaceable tips, it needs to be pretty consistent as far as temperature goes and it needs to be reliable.

Parts Express has the $14.98 adjustable Stahl station on sale for $12 until the end of the year.
    I'd probably put this in the "hot deals" section but I have no firsthand experience with it yet.

For 12 bucks the PE one looks like a no-brainer, but I remember someone talking poo about it on another forum. The reviews look good on PE's site.

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station | Parts-Express.com

They have a 4-piece tip set for $5 also:
    Stahl Tools SSRT 4-Piece Soldering Tip Kit for STSSVT | Parts-Express.com

Does anyone have any experience with this particular unit? Is there anything even remotely close to this price range that I should be considering instead?

Thanks guys!
    If you're not the signal, you're the noise.

dude, just buy a used weller.. or a new weller.

Educate me, tell me what makes it better.
    If you're not the signal, you're the noise.

You just have to use one to know. It's like sex without a condom.