Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Review: Audible Physics XR3M Wideband Drivers

Review: Audible Physics XR3M Wideband Drivers

Disclaimers:

1). I have looked on this forum and have not found a review other than Kevin's (Finebar4 - Look Ma, No Tweeters on DIYMA) - I don't want to step on his review because these are a little bit different then the protos that he has.

2). These drivers are not installed in my car yet - will be in a couple months - just want to give some preliminary impressions.

3) I'm not an expert reviewer - don't have all of the cool vocab to explain what I hear.

Review:

I purchased these drivers without seeing them and without hearing them. I was prepared to purchase a couple other brands of drivers, spoke to a close friend who suggested that I call Mark Brooks before purchasing. Mark has heard my car, knows the other equipment I have installed, and has a sense of my goals for the overall sound. After a conversation with Mark, I made the decision to purchase (he sent me pictures of the drivers later that night).

I received the drivers while visiting my In-laws for the Christmas Holiday. I took these crappy pictures with my phone.

As Kevin stated - the build quality is phenomonal. They are heavy - with a substantial magnet / motor structure. This may deter some due to more difficulty with installation. The Rosewood Phase Plug aesthetics really is something that I appreciate - may not be for everyone, but I think it is pretty cool.

I borrowed an integrated amp that I had sold my Dad a few years ago - that I had bought back in High School to 'test' the drivers. Well, of course the amp is on it's last legs - not sure what the problem is. The sound from the drivers was very good during the few minutes the amp supplied sound.