Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: idq repair?

idq repair?

I bought a idq12v3.d4 in January 2010, new on ebay

It has been mounted in about 1cuft, side-firing, since I got it. It hasn't been overpowered or anything, but I must have been in a hurry, because I forgot to attach it correctly before driving the car yesterday. It fell on its face when I turned, and then stopped working. I think the VC/motor was damaged in some way, or something. It makes very quiet sounds if you put power on it, but the cone does not visibly move at all.

So, of course, I tried to check out ID's repair procedures... but I guess they have closed their doors. (imagedynamicsusa.com) Awesome. I now have another broken subwoofer, orphaned by another great audio shop going under. I guess I'll just add it to the 3 broken Adire Audio Shivas in my attic.

Do I have any options for repair? Am I stupid for not repairing these by myself already? I'm a computer engineer, and spent about 3 years doing soldering repairs on sensitive circuit boards while I was in school, so I guess I should be able to figure it out, right? What special tools and knowledge would I need, and where does one get speaker repair supplies and replacement parts?